Nominations for the Gravel Cycling Hall of Fame opens November 1

Nominations are open to the public and may be submitted through December 1; inductees to be celebrated ahead of Unbound 2024

Gravel Cycling Hall of Fame
(Image credit: Gravel Cycling Hall of Fame)

The Gravel Cycling Hall of Fame is now welcoming nominations for its 2024 class of inductees. 

The cycling community is invited to submit nominations for individuals who have made significant contributions to the world of gravel cycling, until December 1, 2023.

The Gravel Cycling Hall of Fame (GCHOF) was launched ahead of the 2022 Unbound Gravel event in Emporia, Kansas, to recognize and celebrate those who explore, endure, overcome and inspire in the sport of gravel cycling.

"Gravel cycling has experienced remarkable growth over the years, and it's crucial to recognize, honor, and remember those who have played a pivotal role in shaping the sport,” says GHOF founder, Lelan Dains. 

“We have had the honor of inducting some incredible individuals who have made a significant impact on the sport of Gravel Cycling, and we look forward to recognizing the 2024 class of the Gravel Cycling Hall of Fame."

Once the nomination submission period is closed, a panel of more than 50 electors made up of current GCHOF Inductees, the GCHOF Board, athletes, promoters, industry media and gravel cycling enthusiasts, will vote on the class of 2024. 

Inductees will be announced in early 2024 and the induction ceremony for the new class will take place on Wednesday, May 31 in Emporia, Kansas, ahead of Unbound Gravel week.

The class of 2024 will join a truly impressive list of inductees including Alison Tetrick, Yuri Hauswald, Corey Godfrey, Dan Hughes, Kristi Mohn, Rebecca Rusch, Chris Skogen, Mark Stevenson and Bobby Wintle -- many of whom you can read about in our article about gravel's leaders

Being inducted into the GHOF has meant a lot to this year's inductee, Alison Tetrick, who told Cycling Weekly the induction was "an amazing recognition of not just accolades but of purpose."

Nominations for 2024 induction into the Gravel Cycling Hall of Fame can be submitted through the GCHOF website.

In addition to honoring its inductees, there are future plans for a physical museum space to be housed in Emporia.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1