Vuelta a Espana

Vuelta a Espana coverage from Cycling Weekly, with up to date race results, rider profiles and news and reports.

The Vuelta a España 2024 promises a star studded start list
The Vuelta a España 2024 promises a star studded start list
(Image credit: Justin Setterfield / Getty)

The Vuelta a España 2024, the 79th edition of the race, will be the final Grand Tour of the season, with the race following the Giro d'Italia and Tour de France in the WorldTour calendar.

Here's all you need to know ahead of the last Grand Tour of the season. 

Vuelta a Espana 2023 stage 18, climbing to the Puerto de la Cruz de Linares

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Vuelta a España 2024: Overview

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Date17 August 2024 to 8 September 2024
Total distanceTBC
Number of stages21
Start locationLisbon, Portugal
Finish locationMadrid, Spain
UCI Ranking WorldTour
2023 winnerSepp Kuss (USA)
TV coverage (UK)TBC
TV coverage (US)TBC

Vuelta a España 2024: The route

Full details of the Vuelta a España are likely to be released in December 2023 or January 2024. However, we do know that the race will depart from the Portuguese capital of Lisbon on 17th August 2024, for the first time since 1997. Madrid is to be the setting of the final stage on 8th September. 

Vuelta a España: The jerseys

Jersey winners of the vuelta a españa 2023

(Image credit: Getty Images)

The red jersey of the Vuelta's general classification leader is now well established (it was previously gold, but changed in 2010). The leader of the mountains classification wears a polka-dot jersey, but its large blue spots mean it's very different to the one that riders in the Tour de France wear. The points leader's green jersey is lime green, while the jersey for best young rider (born after 1 January 1998), is white – familiar from the Tour de France.

There are other awards on offer as well, including the teams classification and a daily combativity award. Embellished jersey numbers, rather than jerseys, are on offer for this.

Riders in the general classification in particular will be interested in the bonus seconds that are available throughout the race. There are 10, 6 and 4 seconds for finishing first, second and third on a stage, plus 3, 2 and 1 seconds at nine different intermediate sprints throughout the race and 10 separate bonus uphill sprints.

Vuelta a España 2024: The teams

Sepp Kuss celebrating with his Jumbo-Visma team after winning the vuelta a españa 2023

(Image credit: Getty Images)

There will be 22 teams riding the 2024 Vuelta a España, including all 18 WorldTour teams and four second-tier ProTeams. Full details are yet to be confirmed.

Vuelta a España: Past winners

2013: Chris Horner (USA) RadioShack–Leopard
2014: Alberto Contador (Esp) Tinkoff–Saxo
2015: Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana
2016: Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team
2017: Chris Froome (GBr) Team Sky
2018: Simon Yates (GBr) Mitchelton–Scott
2019: Primož Roglič (Slo) Team Jumbo-Visma
2020: Primož Roglič (Slo) Team Jumbo-Visma
2021: Primož Roglič (Slo) Team Jumbo-Visma
2022: Remco Evenepoel (Bel) Quick Step-Alpha Vinyl
2023: Sepp Kuss (USA) Jumbo-Visma